Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Entering into Data warehousing

Status
Not open for further replies.

know123

Technical User
Apr 27, 2006
US
Hi,

I have around 5 years of experience as a DBA and I'm now planning to move to OLAP/Data warehousing. I do NOT want to get into ETL side. I want to get into OLAP side. Would it be very difficult to enter this career? I'm now getting some training on OLAP related tools.

I would also like to know other people's opinion/advice on this

Thanks

OLAP (On Line Analytical Processing) tools are intended for end-users such as business analysts, managers, forecasters, etc., not for IS/IT folks. You could possibly add value by being able to build OLAP cubes from the database tables based on user specifications or your own knowledge of the business. This would involve learning dimensional modeling (star schemas) and you would need a fair to good knowledge of the business goals, strategy, KPI's, measures, dimensions, etc.

-------------------------
The trouble with doing something right the first time is that nobody appreciates how difficult it was - Steven Wright

We don't use etl in our subsets because we haven't built our software on traditional relational databases, so we don't use etl to extract the data. The problem with etl is that every time you want to look at a particular set of data you have to rebuild the query.

ETL does not mean you are only getting your data out of a relational database. in an ETL process the source of the extract can be any number of source data types flat files, databases, custom built datastores. if the data is comming from x into the DW then it is part of the ETL processes.