Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Enforcing numeric chars in textbox widget.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerryk

Programmer
Jun 13, 2001
US
Hi,
I'm an old programmer, new to VB.

I have a TextBox but want the user to only enter integers (I suppose decimals are ok)

I've set the datatype to integer, but the Change() event crashes at runtime giving me "type mismatch" errors when I enter a-z characters.

Is there any way to make the textbox only accept numbers?

many thanks,
Jerry

Code:
Private Sub Number_KeyPress(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyPressEventArgs) _
            Handles txtAmount.KeyPress, txtOrccNumber.KeyPress
        Select Case e.KeyChar
            Case Convert.ToChar(8) ' Backspace
            Case "0" To "9"
            Case Else
                e.Handled = True
        End Select
    End Sub

Forms/Controls Resizing/Tabbing
Compare Code
Generate Sort Class in VB
Check To MS)

Thanks,

I was kinda close with:

Private Sub Text1_KeyPress(KeyAscii As Integer)
If KeyAscii < 48 Or KeyAscii > 57 Then
KeyAscii = 0
End If
End Sub

Your code helps a lot!!!

JohnYingling,
You shouldn't reject keys with an ANSI value of 31 or less. These include important keys such as Backspace, Escape, Tab, and Enter. I belive you're only accouting for the BackSpace key in your code above.

JC

Oh Wow!!! I was unaware of all the smileys available here at tek-tips.
[rockband]

That is correct. Tab key is already intercepted by VB. Enter and Esc do nothing and so are of no importance. Others like ctrl-c can be handled if you so wish. Where is it written "You shouldn't reject keys with an ANSI value of 31 or less?"

Compare Code
Check To MS)

JerryK.