Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

emc symmetrix for personal use....

Status
Not open for further replies.

dumbfounder

Programmer
Feb 12, 2004
US
Hi, sorry if you saw this post before, I put it in a different thread and someone suggested I start my own thread, so here I am.

I am a bonafide novice when it comes to storage arrays, but I am in need of a lot of storage and I find the EMC Symmetrix a very intriguing proposition, especially since you can find them so cheap on ebay. Basically my lack of knowledge causes quite a bit of fear because it is a lot of money to spend. If I were to buy one of these arrays (Symmetrix 3830, 5700, or 8430 to be exact) are there other costs that I need to worry about when mounting to a regular linux server (besides fiber card or other interface card)? Do I need to buy storage management
software, or is that a nice-to-have? any insight anyone can give would be tremendously helpful, I am just a lowly programmer trying to start a search engine (all by myself) and I need a TON of space ultra-cheap. thanks!

I responded to your question in the another thread, but as conclusion... this is not affordable for you.

Sorry.

this is in response to Chacalinc's response seen here: