Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ELLIPSE EQUIPMENT REGISTER - CORRUPT MASTER DATA 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

youngy49

Technical User
Apr 8, 2011
AU
Has anyone experienced the issue where the data entered into Ellipse is corrupt? If yes - have you cleansed the data and how did you go about data cleansing.

I am currently studying at CQU for a masters in maintenance management and the corrupt master data and its cleansing is my research topic.

I am employed at a large mining company in Queensland, our equipment register has over 63,000 items loaded

I have categorised the types of data corruption existing in our equipment register below:
.Duplicate assets
.Non-compliance to companies standards (many employees have access to maintain the equipment register)
.Using a generic/miscellaneous equipment class (ie XX)
.Incorrect settings of various flags (ie Active checkbox not activated)
.Orphaned equipment (no productive unit linked)
.Items loaded that are not considered as maintainable assets by companies asset definition(ie domestic appliances)

It does not appear as data corruption as much as the lack of, or not following, procedures regarding maintaining the data. It sounds like a free-for-all when it comes to updating the equipment which is a recipe for what you describe. Clean-up in this case is accomplished by getting a couple of your knowledgeable maintenance folks together with someone who knows the back-end really well and can effectively query the data. No silver bullets here, just a lot of painstaking work.