Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Electronic Screwdriver Recommendation??

Status
Not open for further replies.

mobtech

Technical User
May 9, 2007
US
I am a computer tech, and looking for a good electronic screwdriver for working on desktops and laptops. Thansk for the help, Amazon links would be the best.

electronic screwdriver"?

I just use a garden variety phillips head screwdriver, which has worked for me the last 15 years for every computer job I've ever undertaken. Magnetic tip or no? I have both and have used both without a problem.

Much is really just preference, overall. But as long as the screwdriver is forged well, there isn't that much difference between one screwdriver or another.

Measurement is not management.

...and avoid the battery-powered electric screwdriver for electronics. While not bad for major disassembly, you will find that it will have too much torque for tightening down sensitive electronic parts. And it's heavy. I also don't like those multi-tip Phillips/slotted combos, they tend to be heavy too.

Get yourself a good dedicated #1 & #2 screwdriver of each type, along with a jeweler's-size flat-blade and Phillips for the delicate stuff. I use a multi-day pill container to store my screws & parts in the order of removal, then close the lid of each compartment as I move on. Avoid gimmickry, just the basics work fine here.

Tony

Users helping Users...

Well, my boss uses one, but I understand that as he is getting older and doesn't have the strength to hold a regular one...

I've tried one, and screwed things up, pardon the pun, as Tony mentioned it had too much torque, ripped a mainboard apart (cracked it)...