Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

dynamically creating a web page 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

andyd273

Programmer
Nov 2, 2005
US
I have a web part that pulls information from a database, puts it into a table and displays in on the web page.
My boss wants me to take the table with the information in it and put it into another web page.

I'm using vb.net 2003 to do the writing, and I'm fairly new to this side of things, and so I dont know how to make this work.

two ways I can see it working (though I dont know how to accomplish either, yet) is to either compile all of the html for the table, and then somehow magically create a new blank browser window and put the table html in as the body.
Or have a second webpage/webpart that has the functions it needs to compile the table, and somehow pass the needed information to look up the correct record from the database.

My problem is that I dont yet know enough to make either of these work, and am having trouble finding this stuff anywhere online or in books. if anyknow knows how to do either of these or knows of something that will work better and can give me a hint as to where to look for a solution, I will be very grateful.

Its the passing of information between webparts, especially webparts on seperate pages, that I dont know how to do.

He basically wants the list of customers on the main page, and the fact sheet to show up on a second page.
What is a good resource to looking up how to do this?

So basically you want a master/detail type page setup? the first page has the master, then you choose one, and the second page has the detail?