Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Dynamic Query Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

PCHomepage

Programmer
Feb 24, 2009
US
I'm not a newbie but I am quite rusty at this. I have a dynamically-generated UPDATE query from a form submission that is not giving any errors but neither is it updating. I'm sure I've missed something obvious as it doesn't appear that it is actually doing anything with the query. Can someone take a look?

Code:
$query = "UPDATE recordings SET Title = 5, Format = 10, CatalogNo = 'DMO-55458', AutoLinked = 1, Description = 'Test Data', KeyWords = 'Test Data', Label = 50, Country = 12, Year = 1962, YearExact = 1, MonoStereo = 2, LinerNotes = 32, TracksAssigned = 11155, SpecialTracks = 'Test Data', Bootleg = 0, GeneralHistory = NULL, TitleHistory = 1, ArgHistory = 16, PressingHistory = 'Test Data', ReviewID = NULL, YearSort = 1943, ArchiveCopy = 1, ItemsID = 1024722449, EntryVerified = 1 WHERE ID = 220472229";

mysql_query($query);

Thanks in advance.

Don

Thanks for the excellent idea! It does indeed give an error on the Description field but it (HeidiSQL) isn't specific about what the error is. The field has had slashes added and has single quotes that use them in the test data but is there something else than needs to be done to a text field other than addslashes()?

Is there some way to return any MySQL error to a variable that can be echoed to the screen? If so, I can replace my current "Record Updated" message with one that actually tells me something useful.

Don

ah, good old heidi [gorgeous] [love2]

i thought maybe your description column was called DESC but it isn't

could you run this query in heidi, please --