Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Dynamic Population of Dropdown List

Status
Not open for further replies.

wfdev

Programmer
Jun 3, 2005
US
I am new to Actuate report development. I have only had the beginner’s class in this.

We have a project assignment to build front-ends to be accessed through the web for reports that have been developed as SQL Server stored procedures.

I would like to come up with code which will display dropdown lists based on a prior selection.

For example, a dropdown list of a category is displayed. Depending on the value of the category, a corresponding subcategory should be displayed showing those values that relate to the category value. What is the most appropriate way to build/populate ‘dynamic’ dropdown lists based on a prior value being selected? What method is utilized (e.g. BrowserCode, etc?)

I have not been able to find any examples of this so far. If someone can offer any ideas, I’d appreciate it.

Thank you.

See the BrowserScriptingControl.rod sample in the product.

Use a BSC component and insert code in the OnRow()
eg

Sub OnRow( row As AcDataRow )
Super::OnRow( row )

Dim sCustomState As String
' Add additional option that the user can select from

sCustomState = row.GetValue( "customers.state" )
If ( InStr ( BSC_OptionsCode, sCustomState ) = 0 ) Then
if sCustomState = DataSource::customers_state then
BSC_OptionsCode = BSC_OptionsCode & "<option selected value='" & sCustomState & "'>" & sCustomState & " </option>"
else
BSC_OptionsCode = BSC_OptionsCode & "<option value='" & sCustomState & "'> " & sCustomState & " </option>"
end if
End If
End Sub