Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

dynamic HTML

Status
Not open for further replies.

nychris

MIS
Dec 4, 2004
US
I'm not a web designer by any means, I do Unix SysAdmin work, but I need to create this one page on a site.

Lets say you have a directory called /files, that can be accessed via Inside the /files directory, you have many .jpg's. When I visit I want it to
automatically create thumbnails of every jpg in that directory. If a file is added or removed, when I click refresh to reload the page it will update the page with the additions/removals. How would you go about doing this? I think this is what PHP is used for?

Thanks

--
Chris
RHCE, SCSA, AIX5L, LPIC, CNE, CCNA, MCSE

Creating thumbnails dynamically with PHP quite simple to do but is also quite resource intensive, especially if you have a great number of them.

You'd be well advised to cache the thumbnails somewhere and then perform some kind of check for new images as required.
I would suggest that if it's at all possible you use a strict filenaming system so you can more easily compare what thumbnails you have already generated.

You will also need to have the GD Libraries installed in order to use PHP to create the thumbnails.

Take a look at these PHP functions.

Obviously, because this is more a PHP question you'd be better asking more detailed questions in the PHP forum (Forum434)

<honk>*:O)</honk>
Foamcow Heavy Industries - Web site design in Cheltenham and Gloucester
Ham and Jam - British & Commonwealth forces mod for Half Life 2

Hi

Foamcow said:
use a strict filenaming system so you can more easily compare what thumbnails you have already generated