Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

DW and "what if" questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

brokenbone

Programmer
Oct 19, 2005
SI
Hi all!

I'm new in data warehousing and I have already read a couple of theoretical literature about data warehousing, OLAP, multidimensional modeling etc.
I've read a lot about how DW is perfect for answering "what if" types of questions, but havent found any practical examples. I have a problem imagining it in practice. Can somebody please take a couple of minutes and show me a small and quick example on what kinds of "what if" questions and how they can be answered.

I have an example of "what if" problem and I don't know what kind of data would be needed for answering it.
Let's say,that a company takes a lot of loans in different ways. Now they would like to know, what will the balance be in future, if interest rate is x%. What about if it is y, z%?
Is this the type of question that can be answered by DW data? Does the DW have to include all the precalculated balances for all possible interest rates or is this done something like this: user enters interest rates and procedures then calculate balance?

I hope I was clear enough, my main question was about a practical example for what if question, maybe from someone that has already done something like that.

Thank you in advance!
BB

While not directly a DW benefit, this analysis can be accomplished using the DW and DW structures. Consider this table structure.

Loan Table
LoanID
LoanDate
LoanAmt
LenderID
CustomerID
LoanPlanID <*

Loan Plan Table
LoanPlanID
InterestRate
RepayWindow
OtherTerms