Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

DVD creation 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

borgg001

Technical User
Dec 11, 2003
MT
I am new to DVD creation. I am a little mixed up. I have a digital video camera and I want to convert my videos to DVD. I have downloaded several programs to convert my AVI's to DVD. However some programs simply convert AVI's to MPEG2 whereas others convert them to .VOB files. I have browsed a commercial DVD and found its contents to be .VOB files.
So can anyone tell whether MPEG2 files can be read by DVD palyers or should they be further converted to .VOB files?

1)tsunami Mpeg encoder to do your mpeg files

2)Nero Burning rom
DVDit
DVD Lab
Ulead's DVD Movie Factory
Pinnacles DVD Express

to create your Dvd's.

MPEG2 is the DVD's native format, but... Whether your DVD can play them is another issue. Most cheapie decks have no problems playing an mpeg2 right off the dvd, but it's hit and miss with decks like pioneer,sony, etc...

The .vob files are more compatible for playback in standalone DVD players. This is the type of file structure that allows menu's , chapter points, etc. The .vob files are the result of a DVD authoring program, and are really what is desired for maximum compatibility on standalone dvd players. The tools used to convert avi to MPEG2 intend on you using the MPEG in an authoring progam, such as dvdIT!

I'm probably a little confusing here.... hard to play spacewardHO! and compose myself properly at the same time.