Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

DropDown Datawindow Query

Status
Not open for further replies.

nagendertank

Programmer
Feb 20, 2013
Hi I am new in powerbuilder Technology.Currently I am working on an existing project and doing some enhancement.But I stuck at one place.

I have two datawindow Like DW_A and DW_B.

When I click on a button "Add Row"
It Adds row in DW_A

Ex. Column-A Column-B
ABC 123
CDE 456
EFG 678

DW_A is not save in database till now.Data is only in buffer.

Now I am Inserting new row in DW_B which have one dropdown.
This drop must have Column-A value("ABC","CDE","EFG").
I used Child datawindow concept but not able to populate.

Please help me that how can i populate dropdown with DW_A-Column-A values?

To use a dropdowndatawindow you first have to define the 'dropdown' datawindow object. Normally this only has a single display column (the 'human readable' value which shows in the dropdown).

Next you define the datawindow for your user entry form. The column on this form which will contain the dropdown normally has some 'non human readable' value (like a key value). In the edit property of the column you choose type 'Dropdowndatawindow' and choose the first datawindow object and then indicate the visible column and the data column. The visible column is what the user sees and the data column is what gets saved to the database.