Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Drive Duplication

Status
Not open for further replies.

inforeqd

Technical User
Jan 8, 2001
US
I would like to make a master drive that I can copy to other clients. Any thoughts or ideas on what others have done and/or used to do such a process. I can utilize a disk duper since we have one at work, but I'm trying to get all the other options with problems etc. I keep getting asked by other people why we just don't "ghost" the drives. But I'm not sure if thats really the best way. Basically, to summarize. I have a golden master drive that I want to be able to replicate so I can roll out an office environment. Using something other than my disk duplicator (which I like to use a lot).

TIA
Inforeqd

The way and how-to's, would depend on the OS in use...

For Windows XP and prior, there would be RIS, where you would lay down the install files on a network storage, and install from there...

for Windows Vista and 7, you could use ImageX, which is the native tool to use there, also on installing from the network...

then there are programs such as:

Universal Imaging Utility for Windows 7

StorageCraft ShadowProtect Server Edition and ShadowProtect Desktop Edition

also have a read here for some interesting suggestions:

for Linux:

Hardware-independent Cloning of a Linux (Fedora) Install, Part 1

NOTE: if you are in an AD environment you may run into a problem with the SID's of the systems...

Ben
"If it works don't fix it! If it doesn't use a sledgehammer..."
How to ask a question, when posting them to a professional forum.
Only ask questions with yes/no answers if you want "yes" or "no"