Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Does HPOV (Windows) support INFORMs? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

PBN

IS-IT--Management
Jan 25, 2000
US
Does HPOV (Windows) support INFORMs? If so, how do I configure it to accept them. I am trying to test our software that sends informs. If I send a trap, it comes though. If I send an inform, nothing is seen. I am a novice user. I couldn't find anything in the docs or the online help. Any information would be greatly appreciated.<br>
thanks,<br>
Brad

What software are you using that sends INFORMS? The only product I know of personally in NerveCenter. If you can give me a little more info about the products you are using, maybe I can help.<br>
<br>
Dave sends...

What software are you using that sends INFORMS? The only product I know of personally in NerveCenter. If you can give me a little more info about the products you are using, maybe I can help.<br>
<br>
Dave sends... <br>
<br>

Thanks for the response. I am using an agent we have written in house that was built with the Eminate SNMP Agent toolkit from SNMP Research. We have another manager that was built in house that prints the OID from the pdu that the Eminate Agent sends. However, HPOV does not appear to see the pdu at all. Sending a pdu from our agent to our manager isn't enough for our customer to verify it is following standards for an INFORM. I need a third party tool such as HPOV to assist. Thanks in advance for the help.

Do you see the INFORM in HPOV's trapd.log? If yes, have you setup the OID coming from the Eminate Agent in HPOV's event configuration?