Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Does anybody know of a "work diary" database?

Status
Not open for further replies.

remsaw

Technical User
Jul 12, 2006
US
Hello -

I have been seeking an application for a few years, have tried several commercial apps, none have done the trick for me. I have a job where my my function is fixing things, a variety of things. In addition I also prepare reports (who doesn't anymore??) including weekly and monthly status reports, order parts, general gofer work, etc.

What I would like is some sort of way to write in a diary what I do. I want it to be able to tell me the history of how many of the various "things" I have worked on, or tell me what I did for a range of dates, or tell me something about a particular "thing."

For example, were I an automobile mechanic, I would want to know what I did last two weeks, how many Volkswagens I worked on this year, what I did to Volkswagen Jetta's, Beetles, and Dodge pick up trucks, which cars I did front end alignments on, and what other sorts of things, like prepare reports on cars or reports on Volkswagen maintenance.

Outlook's calendar function comes close - but is not really very easy to sort by both date and job function, without making several entries for one day's work.

I did try a simple Access Database - it seemed like overkill to use Access for this Data - there are not that many fields or tables. Additionally, I would like a little more powerful text editor for inputing data.

I would also like the database to be searchable for a phrase or keyword.