Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Do we have a choice? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

akshtray

IS-IT--Management
Dec 14, 2002
US
Hello:

I am a recent college graduate trying to work my way up the System Administration ladder. I work as technical support(and have worked so for the last 1.5 years) with mainly Red Hat Unix systems customized for web hosting purposes. I am fairly comfortable using them and would call myself and advanced user if not an expert.

However, I wish to enhance my System Administration skills in Unix. I am looking for a certification which will let me do that. Money is definitely a thing to think about for me and I do not want to spend too much on the certification (200 or so). Which kind of Unix Certification would be good for me? Do we even have any choices? I want to be able to buy the material (books etc) without spending a load of money either. Please let me know.

All help will be appreciated.

Thanks
Akshtray

Well, you basically have a choice between RHCE, LPI or Linux+.
LPI (Linux Professional Institute) seems to be the realistic one to go for judging by it's support by companies like IBM.

IBM Certified Confused - MQSeries
IBM Certified Flabbergasted - AIX 5 pSeries System Administration
MS Certified Windblows Rebooter

If you are really looking to become a unix SA and want a marketable certification your best bet would be to go the Solaris route. That's painful to say since I much prefer AIX, but there are more professional jobs on Solaris than most other unices.