Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Do I need a tool for this? RJ12

Status
Not open for further replies.

ttsmi

IS-IT--Management
Jan 21, 2013
US
See pic.

I am moving this connector to another location. I cannot get these wires to connect! Either they fall out or I get them in there, but there is no metal on metal contact! I tried using pliers to no avail.

Do I need a tool???

Yup, you need a tool to seat the wires properly, or purchase a jack with screw terminals instead of IDCs, or worst case, assuming that you are mounting this on a box, so that there is space behind it, pull off the Green and Red and use UY or UR connectors to splice your I/W to the wire to the modular jack.

Well, I'm a newbie when it comes to this phone stuff so I'll have to look up the acronyms you used. Can you tell me what tool I would need? All I'm doing is hooking it up at the new location exactly the way it looks in the pic.

Thanks!!!

The "tool" that I used on that type jack was a 2 inch piece of molded plastic that came with the jack although it looks like it might work with a 110 or krone type punch-down tool (either of which will set you back much more than a new jack). The IDC mentioned by Tommy means that the Connector "Displaces" the Insulation as you push the wire up into a slot in the metal fingers. Don't tell anyone, but I have had some luck on that style jack by using a putty knife and small screwdriver to force the wire into place, sometimes even stripping off 1/4 inch of insulation and pushing the bare wire into the metal slot.

It's a "630" blade for a telephone punch down tool.