Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

DNS name resolution failing for new node - can't resolve

Status
Not open for further replies.

tradle

Programmer
Jan 7, 2004
US
All -

Please forgive me if this is an easy one. I'm an application developer, not a network guy, and I'mtrying to help out one of my clients.

They have a very small Win2K network - 4 workstations plus a digital printer attached and using active directory on one server. The IP addresses are statically assigned. On trying to add a new WinXP workstation to the domain, I'm getting DNS name resolution errors. On the server, for the computer object, I've noticed that the "DNS Name" field is not populated as it is for other workstations. Could this be the source of my issue, or is this field populated when a workstation successfully connects to the domain?

The domain is not a single-label domain; another user in another forum suggested a fix for that scenario. I'm drawing at straws here - the other workstations joined the domain with very little effort. This one is not at all behaving.

Please help - I'll be happy to provide any further details that may be necessary in diagnosing the issue.

Thanks,
Tim

Are you trying to join this WS to the domain? Have you configured the IP settings? Is the Server running DNS Server, if so is the WS pointed at it?

Sorry - to answer your questions...

Yes, we're trying to join the ws to the domain.
Yes, IP and DNS settings are configured.
Yes, the server is running DNS Server and the ws is configured to work within its specifications. The other 4 ws's work fine - no issues. This is a new install that is just not going well.