Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

dll question

Status
Not open for further replies.

bernardsylunar

Programmer
Feb 9, 2005
PH
hi everyone!

i just post this question coz maybe someone here knew Visual C++ but i also post it in Visual C++ forum...

i'm new to Visual C++ and i try to create my own dll and call it from my Visual Basic 6.0 program. i've created a function IsStringEqual that will check if the two strings are equal. here's my code...

In Visual C++

int _stdcall IsStringEqual(char string1, char string2, int discardCase)
{
if (discardCase == 1)
{
string1 = tolower(string1);
string2 = tolower(string2);
}
if (string1 == string2)
return 1;
else
return 0;
}

In Visual Basic

Private Declare Function IsStringEqual Lib "E:\ynad\personal\program\vc++\MyDll\Release\MyDll.dll" (ByVal String1 As Any, ByVal String2 As Any, ByVal discardCase As Integer)

Private Sub Command1_Click()
Dim i
i = IsStringEqual(Text1.Text, Text2.Text, 0)
Debug.Print i
End Sub

-------------------------------------

everytime i run my visual basic project and click the command button there's always an error message 'Bad DLL calling convention'. i try to remove the _stdcall there's always the same error that i've encountered.

pls help...

thanks in advance

ynad
----
It is foolish to listen to someone who will not listen to you.

ynad,

I prototype functions in C++ as
extern "C" __declspec( dllexport ) long __stdcall
and in VB declare them as
Declare Function fnLogErrorMsg Lib "Unified" Alias "_fnLogErrorMsg@12" ( _
ByVal pszLogFileName As String, _
ByVal pszErrorMsg As String, _
ByVal errNo As Long _
) As Long

>> extern "C" __declspec( dllexport ) long __stdcall