Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Distributor Password in Support Tools

Status
Not open for further replies.

telepath9465

IS-IT--Management
Mar 3, 2005
US
Hi, I work for Southwest Datacom, a Nortel distributor, Advantage Partner for Nortel. I am an Call Pilot 4.0 NCSS and NCDS, also CS1000 4.0 NCSS and NCDS. I've taken all the tests that allow me that priviledge, no one ever told me the distributor password for support tools used for resetting the admin mailbox (000000) password during my testing and training. I was wondering if any of you might be able to share that with me. I do have the RAS number, login and password necessary for gaining access to the system I need to reset, I wouldn't be able to access the system at all without the Server 2003 login. I would appreciate any help you guys could offer.

John
Southwest Datacom

telepath9465...the password you are asking for are different
depending what release you have.there is a reason you do
have have these password they are for tech support personal
in the wrong hands thing can go wrong.

no problems only solutions

strmwalker

The distributor pwd is only given out by Nortel Tech Support after you have completed the CP Advance Tech Support class given by Nortel at Nortel Canadian or Texas campus

The only other way to reset the password is to reimage the server, and restore the system data with a good backup.

I know the support password changed from Rel 3.0 to 4.0, because the same support password worked from 1.0 to 3.0.

But sometimes it's quicker to reimage the server and restore the backup.

John

Quicker than logging into the 'Support Tools' logging in and typing resetadminpswd, I don't think so.