Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Distance Related Search Google API

Status
Not open for further replies.

wilberforce2

IS-IT--Management
Jan 8, 2007
GB
Hello

I am new to ASP.net 2.0 and I am having some problems creating a distance related search in a directory.

I am using the following code to get Latitude and longitude data from google maps from a postcode a user types in to perform a search. The problem I am having is that to use the showAddress function I must call it with return false but this prevents the form posting and the search being imitated. Any ideas in how I can solve this issue. I have looked everywhere on the web and cannot find any examples. I am using Visual Web Studio Express Edition. The database already has the Latitude and longitude details for each entry. I can post the full code if it’s required.

Thanks

Code:
   <script type="text/javascript">
    var map = null;
    var geocoder = null;

function initialize() {
      if (GBrowserIsCompatible()) {
        map = new GMap2(document.getElementById("map_canvas"));
        geocoder = new GClientGeocoder();
      }
    }

function showAddress(address) {

if (geocoder) {
      alert("GeoCode")
        geocoder.getLatLng(
          address,
          function(point) {
            if (!point) {
              alert(address + " not found");
            } else {
              map.setCenter(point, 13);
              alert(point.y)
              //document.getElementById("DetailsView1_LatTextbox").value = point.y
              //document.getElementById("DetailsView1_LonTextbox").value = point.x
            }
          }
        );
      }
    }

</script>