Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

displaying ten results per page in perl cgi

Status
Not open for further replies.

squish20

Programmer
May 25, 2012
AU
Hi

I'm pretty new to perl and I am currently trying to do an assignment for school which involves us creating a dating website. This requires me to present 10 profiles per page with links to the next and the previous page. This is the subroutine i wrote to handle this:

Perl:
sub browse_ten {
        my $page = 1; # intialise number of pages
        my @users = glob("user_dir/*);
        #entire array of all the user files to be displayed.
        my $pages_required= ceil(($#users)/10); #calculate how many pages to display
        while ($page le $pages_required) {
                my $start = ($page - 1) * 10; # index to begin displaying them
                my $end   = $start + 10; # show 10 results per page
                $end = scalar(@users) if $end > scalar(@users); # cap the end

# whether to show links
                if ($start > 0) {
                        # Show a Previous link
                        print "<a href=>\"engcupid.cgi?page=" + ($page - 1) + "\">Previous</a>";
                }
                if (scalar(@users) > $end) {
                        # There's more entries after what's being shown
                        print "<a href=>\"engcupid.cgi?page=" + ($page + 1) + "\">Next</a>";
                }

# Show the range of entries.
                for (my $i = $start; $i < $end; $i++) {
                        my $user_to_show = $users[$i];
                        $profile_filename = "$user_to_show/profile";
                        open $p, "$profile_filename" or die "cannot open $profile_filename: $!\n";