Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Displaying only specific parts from a field

Status
Not open for further replies.

NateBOIT

Technical User
Oct 4, 2006
US
I was in the MySQL forum asking about my problem and feherke told me to try and use AWK to do it. So here i am. And i have never used AWK before.

I have a program that logs various event logs into a database. I am using Navicat to generate reports from MySQL. Problem is, the entire event log is stored in one field in MySQL. I would like to extract a few non-consecutive lines and only have the query display those back. For example:
Code:
Logon Failure:
Reason:    Account logon time restriction violation
    User Name:    joebob
    Domain:        DOMAIN
    Logon Type:    10
    Logon Process:    User32  
    Authentication Package:    Negotiate
    Workstation Name:    JOEBOB_COMP
    Caller User Name:    JOEBOB_COMP
    Caller Domain:    DOMAIN
    Caller Logon ID:    (0x0,0x3E7)
    Caller Process ID:    5324
    Transited Services:    -
    Source Network Address:    192.168.1.14
    Source Port:    4639

For this one i would want only the Logon Failure:, Reason, User Name, and Workstation name. However, all events do not have the same "fields." The event is formatted with carriage return line feeds after each section, which could possibly be used to help divide up what i want.

Can i use awk just within a query to return the results of the script?

I would probably eventually set up if statements to determine what type of event each one was and then mine out whatever data i needed depending on the type of event.