Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Displaying Links depending on user privileges

Status
Not open for further replies.

M8KWR

Programmer
Aug 18, 2004
GB
I am very new to asp, so please bare with me.

I am trying to create a simmple site, with a user login page.

The user have certain privileges (to what pages they are able to go to).

I have create a master page, i would like to have a number of links (these connected to the style sheet i have created), so example Page1 / Page2 / Page3 etc

But cetain users i would not want to see Page2, how would i go about this.

If its any helps i am using vb code (or that may be no help at all).

In essence i am just trying to control what the users is seeing on the pages, depending on their user.

Many thanks for any help and advice in advance.

That's easy enough... done it many times.

Essentially, you can do it with IF statements.

If UserLevel > 3 then
Response.write "The link goes here..."
Else

... something along those lines.

Just my 2¢
-Cole's Law: Shredded cabbage

--Greg

But if am a user and I see

Page 1 / Page 3 / Page 4 ....

with a URLs like

You can rest assured the next thing I'm typing is

My point is that merely hiding them (security through obscurity) won't keep users out of them.

One approach might be on login to set a session variable that would be checked on the load of any page. If the session variable value is acceptable the page loads, otherwise the user is unauthorized.

If you have multiple users and multiple passwords, are you storing them in a database? How are you working your login?

You can rest assured the next thing I'm typing is
www.mysite.com/page2.asp