Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

displaying image using canvas 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Silentkiller

Technical User
Feb 13, 2003
GB
Hi!
How can i display a *.pgm image i called, using canvas function. I'm new to Tcl/Tk.
Thankx

Displaying an image is a 2-step process:[ol][li]Create an image object in memory[/li][li]Display the image object in the canvas (or other widget)[/li][/ol]You create the image object with the image create command, which is where you'd specify the name of the file containing the image data. For example:

Code:
set img [image create photo -file myImg.pgm]

A couple of notes here. The example above assumes that the image file is in the current working directory. If it isn't, you can use a relative or absolutive path for the file name. The second note is that the image create command automatically creates a name for the image object, and that is the return value of the command. You'll need this image name later on, so you'll want to store it in a variable, as shown above.

Now that we've got an image object created, we can display it in our canvas (or other widget). For a canvas, you do so with the canvas's create image operation, and providing it the position and the name of the image object to display. For example:

Code:
canvas .c
pack .c -expand yes -fill both
.c create image 10 10 -anchor nw -image $img

This example tell the canvas, .c, to display the image object I created earlier so that its northwest corner (upper-left corner) is anchored to the position x=10, y=10 on the canvas.