Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Disabling Phantom DN? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ITTech0315

IS-IT--Management
Sep 1, 2023
US
Hi all,

I am very new to the Nortel PBX system and am having to learn it. I am working on a project to replace all of the old phones and moving to a new Cisco system. Because the place I work at is huge and has so many phones, I am having to disable TNs in order to find where the phones are located. I am running across Phantom TN's now and I want to try to disable them to see if they are still in use/see who still uses them. Is there a way to disable a Phantom DN? I've tried in LD 20, but it just errors out when I try to disable it. I've read in some places the maybe LD 96 will allow you to do it? Thanks in advance for any information/help you can provide!

I don't think that you can disable a Phantom DN.

What I used to do was to change the DN by just adding an extra digit or changing the leading digit to a single digit that's spare on your phone system.

In LD 20
REQ: PRT
TYPE LUDN
DN ( press enter or add in any leading digits to check)
Press enter again.

Firebird Scrambler

Nortel & Avaya Meridian 1 / Succession & BCM / Norstar Programmer

Website = linkedin

Other way is take a TNB so have the details to put it back, and change the DCFW on the phantom to your phone, or a mailbox asking them to leave details of number called and what its function is, or info mailbox telling them the service has been suspended and if its still required to contact you number/email etc.