Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Different Releases Inter-operating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ole

MIS
May 17, 2002
US
Hello.

I am currently running:

Domino 5.0.7
Notes 5.0.11 and 5.0.12

I am very new to Domino/Notes which is why I have not upgraded the server to the newest 5.0.x version yet.

I have some questions:

1) Can I use Notes 6.0.x with Domino 5.0.x without problems?

2) Is there anything I should be aware of when upgrading Domino from 5.0.7 to 5.0.12?

3) Is there anything I should be aware of when upgradeing Domino from 5.0.7 to 6.0.x?

Thanks in advance,

Ole

I am using Notes 6.01 with Domino 5.010 server with no problem, however I am using it simply for mail held on the server. You dont give any information about options that you are running. Are users running mobile accounts with local mail replicas etc for instance. Why do you want to upgrade to 5.012 instead of 6.01 (6.02 soon)clients?.

I suggest you read the red book as a start (13mb download as pdf). It has a compatability matrix for instance.

There is a basic rule of thumb that Lotus tries to hold itself to, which is that you can always run a Domino server that is one major release above the clients. In other words, a Domino 6x server can serve Notes 5x clients without problem.
Sometimes, you can use a client that is a version higher than the server (R5 client on an R4 server), but that is rarely recommended, and it should be firmly avoiding for developement purposes.

Thank you both MarkhP and pmonett.

I'm sorry I didn't specify further. We are currently ONLY using Notes/Domino for mails, so at this time we will NOT be doing any development on it.