Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

DID not dialing though from outside line

Status
Not open for further replies.

kleinsak

Technical User
Nov 13, 2013
US
This is my first time ever posting in a forum in my 10 years of IT, sorry I'm long winded.

I have a user who had forwarded his phone from his main location to another location. Not knowing that he had done that (and needing to setup another user for the extension he was forwarded to) I modified his profile in Director for the new user, when I realized what had happened his profile was trashed. I ended up deleting his profile and the phone from Director and copied an existing user (whom had his own DID assigned) to create a new profile for the user. I reassigned the user the same extension and DID number that he had previously. We can call the user internally using his extension, but every time you try to call the user using his outside number aka DID number, the system gives a message saying the extension is unavailable. To troubleshoot I've had the user reboot the phone and deleted and recreated the profile in Director from scratch instead of copying from an existing user. I can change the user's DID to another open extension and am able to call through. Tonight I am going to reboot the PRI and the Switch, but in some forums I've read that didn't fix the problem. I'm hoping someone will have an idea, as if there is some config/ini file that needs to be refreshed either on our Shoretel server or the PRI.