Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Dex.ini file for Version 10.0 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

donutman

Programmer
Dec 20, 2002
US
I'm new to Great Plaines. I'm trying to learn what tables are effected when various transactions are performed. I've read from another thread that the dex.ini file can be modified to create a SQL log file. I've also read that version 10.0 may not support this feature.
My question is rather basic. Where do I find the dex.ini file (server or workstation) and will this work for version 10.0?
Karl

[red] Cursors, triggers, user-defined functions and dynamic SQL are an axis of evil![/red]
[green]Life's uncertain...eat dessert first...www.deerfieldbakery.com[/green]

The Dex.ini file is under the Data folder in your GP 10.0 install folder. So the default location would be C:\Program Files\Microsoft Dynamics\GP\Data\. Yes, creating a SQL log file will work with any Dynamics GP version. Good luck wading through the results in the logs, make sure you have lots of coffee and donuts on hand. :)

Victoria Yudin
Dynamics GP MVP 2005 - 2010
Use Crystal Reports and SSRS with GP:
blog:

Thanks Victoria! I guess the next question is where I can expect to find the log file - same directory? Also do I need to change the flag to TRUE for all 3 of these?

SQLLogSQLStmt=FALSE
SQLLogODBCMessages=FALSE
SQLLogAllODBCMessages=FALSE
Karl

[red] Cursors, triggers, user-defined functions and dynamic SQL are an axis of evil![/red]

Karl,

You can skip the last one and just do the first 2. You can specify the path of the file on a separate line (SQLLogPath=path) or it will be put into that Data directory where the Dex.ini file is.

Victoria Yudin
blog:

Hi Victoria,