Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

dependency of Exchange server on another machine?

Status
Not open for further replies.

arjin

Technical User
Jul 30, 2003
TR
hi,
i am new to MS world, and thereby to the MS Exchange.

my problem is as follows:
in our LAN, we have two servers, lets call them 01 and 02. 01 is used as internal domain controller and 02 plays the gate to the outside (internal network is dhcp controlled, by the way). on 02 is running Exchange 2000, and this is somehow dependent on 01. i want to replace 01 with a new machine; however, when i shut 01 down Exchange on 02 gets out of service. i try to figure out the dependency of 02 about Exchange on 01, but as i have said, i am new to Exchange and this is not an easy task for me.

would you please suggest some clues about what this dependency can be?

thanx in advance,

ps. Active Directory is installed on both servers.

Im wondering what service pack for exchange you have installed. MS Admitted defeat and totally re-wrote the diectory access components of exchange with SP2 and above. If you have no service pack or sp1, its possible your exchange server still only knows about dc "01"

- sp3 is installed.

do you mean that i have to delete "01" from the domain controllers list in the ad users and computers on "02"?

No, If you have installed sp3 then the directory access has been upgraded and would have performed discovery again.

Hang on a mo, You have AD on 02, but have you made it a global catalogue server?