Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Deny access to part of form based on MS Access built in security 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

northernbeaver

Programmer
Jul 9, 2001
CA
Hello everyone, cant seem to fing the solution Im looking for so I will ask for some help. I have a database (front end on local machines, backend on server) I have a mdw where I have set up three groups; Admins, User, Manager

I have a master form frmEmployee on this form there are three Pages if the current user belongs to Admin group I want them to have access to all three pages, If the user belongs to Manager, I want them to be able to see two of the three pages and the user group should only see one page on this form. I cant find the VBA command that allows me to check the current user group status.

any ideas?

The default workspace object contains two collections named Users and Groups, which hold an entry for each user and group account, respectively, in the current system database (workgroup file). The User objects have their own Groups collection that contains the groups the user belongs to, and likewise, the Group objects have their own Users collection that contains the users who belong to that group. So you can start from either a user or group and look up the other to see if they're associated.

For example, starting with the user and looking up his groups can be done this way:
Code:
    DbEngine.Workspaces(0).Users(CurrentUser).Groups
This expression returns a Groups collection which contains a Group object for each security group account the current user belongs to.

If you just want to know whether the user belongs to some particular group, you can write a general purpose function: