Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

DEll PE/2950 III Perc 6/i RAID 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

DozAdmin

IS-IT--Management
Feb 7, 2008
US
I am new to Dell setup, not sure if I'm missing something. I have 5 drives, want 1 for OS the other 4 on a RAID 10 array. I would like to have 4 logical drives on the array.

Dell calls an Array a virtual drive ( I guess ). I don't see how to create more than one logical drive in the RAID 10 array?

If this isn't supported I have other ?S

Thanks in advance.

I would rethink 1 disk for the OS!!!!
A 2 disk raid 1 for the OS is critical

If you still want your setup...
For the OS, a one disk setup is created by defining the virtual drive (yes it means array) as a raid 0.

As to the logical drives on the raid 10 array, this has nothing to do with the raid 10 setup. Raid adapters have nothing to do with (or are aware of) logical drives
The logical drives are created within Windows, within "Disk Manager".

refer to the manual...

Chernobyl disaster..a must see pictorial

Guess it's just a different setup. With the HP / Compaq setup you can create the logical drives in the hp / compaq array configuration. With the dell you can do that with RAID setup other than 10 - when RAID 10 is selected the drive space is locked.

Technically, you can create multiple volumes on a Perc(Lsilogic base) adapter, you just choose a smaller amount of megabytes when you create your first volume, the remainder of space can be used for more array volumes. With one large volume, it is easier and faster to create partitions from within Windows.