Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Delete SQL statement

Status
Not open for further replies.

MONFU

Programmer
Oct 27, 2001
MT
Hello all,

I am a newbie in ASP development and I have an error. I am suspecting that I have a problem with the delete sql statement in my ASP page, which I cannot figure out what it is. Here is my code:-

'*** Create the sql to insert the e-mail address in the database if not empty

if EMail <> &quot;''&quot; then
sql1 = &quot;&quot;
sql1 = sql1 & &quot;DELETE FROM contact &quot;
sql1 = sql1 & &quot; WHERE e-mail = &quot; & oldEMail
sql1 = sql1 & &quot; AND pAddress1 = &quot; & oldAddress1
sql1 = sql1 & &quot; AND pAddress2 = &quot; & oldAddress2
sql1 = sql1 & &quot; AND others = &quot; & oldOthers & &quot;;&quot;
rs1.open (sql1)
rs1.open &quot;INSERT INTO contact (e-mail,pAddress1,pAddress2,others) VALUES (&quot; & EMail & &quot;,&quot; & oldAddress1 & &quot;,&quot; & oldAddress2 & &quot;,&quot; & oldOthers & &quot;);&quot;
Response.Write(sql1)
oldEMail = EMail
end if

And this is the error it is giving me:-

Error Type:
Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers (0x80040E14)
[Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Syntax error (missing operator) in query expression 'e-mail = 'info@otters.com.mt' AND pAddress1 = '13, St.Paul's Street', AND pAddress2 = 'Victoria', AND others = 'other info';'.

Please can you help me out! All help is much appreciated.

Thanks

You have extra &quot;From&quot; in your delete statement, and you need single quote on your string parameter.

The easiest way to diagnose problems with SQL statements is to print them to the screen so you can see how it is being created:

sql1 = &quot;&quot;