Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Defragging 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamDemon

Technical User
May 28, 2003
GB
I am not sure if this is the best place for me to place this query, so I apologise if it isnt.

In our office there are 6 servers which are all now starting to look a little fragmented. I would like to defrag them, but it is something that i have never done before and i was wondering what the possible problems are.

I will be using the Windows defrag and not anything external.

Thanks

Sam

It's just common sense, shame sense isn't common!

Thanks...

Will it effect the defrag if it is run during the day?

Sam

I agree with electronicsfreak. Your first defrag may take quite a while. The servers will need to be either offline, or at least no disk activity on the partition you are defragging during the defrag.

I find it pays to defrag as often as you can as the longer you leave it, the longer it takes. I also find with microsofts defrag it pays to repeat immediately a couple of times to get a better result. It's as if it doesn't do the job properly.

Finally I never trust chksdk to deal with bad sectors. It seems to simply mark them bad and bins any data on them. I run spinrite to deal with that side of things, but use chkdsk to check the fle structure.

I have a slight problem in that the server with the most fragmentation is the mail server... which is an integral part of the company.

The disk that requires the de-frag is only 40GB in size... any ideas how long that should take (worse case scenario!)

Sam