Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Defaulted Input Param after an Output Param

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen526

Programmer
Dec 28, 2004
US
I suspect this belongs in the ColdFusion forum, but I don't know CF, so thought I'd try here.

I'm a VB/SQL programmer providing support to a Cold Fusion developer creating CF front-ends that hook into our existing stored procs.

I have a stored proc set up something like:
Code:
CREATE proc MyProcName
  @input1 varchar(10),
  @input2 int, 
  @output1 int out,
  @NEWInput3 int=null
NewInput3 is a new parameter I've added ONLY for this new development that will have no bearing on my existing apps, so I added the default to avoid having to change my existing VB apps.

The ColdFusion developer is calling the procedure:
Code:
<cfstoredproc procedure="MyProcName" dataSource="MyDSN"> 
<cfprocparam type="IN" dbvarname="@input1" value="#value1#" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_VARCHAR">
<cfprocparam type="IN" dbvarname="@input2" value="12345" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_INT"> 
<cfprocparam type="OUT" dbvarname="@output1" variable=varOut cfsqltype="CF_SQL_INT"> 
<cfprocparam type="IN" dbvarname="@NEWInput3" value="1" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_INT">
</cfstoredproc>

And getting an error: [Macromedia][SQLServer JDBC Driver][SQLServer]Formal parameter '@NEWInput3' was defined as OUTPUT but the actual parameter not declared OUTPUT.

If we move NewInput3 above the outgoing param, it works. If we remove the "=Null" default from NewInput3, it works. Both would require me to make a VB change I'd rather avoid.