Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

DB Dev

Status
Not open for further replies.

gennaroalpha7

Technical User
Nov 28, 2012
US
Hi All -

We have a legacy flat file MIS that is used for report generation. We want to develop a SQL relational DB. My questions please...

1. What are the steps/deliverables to develop this DB - I am a Business Analyst on the team?

2. What do I need to collect to develop the DB?

Thank you for your expertise and time.

Alpha

You're in general D B asking a very general question, so that could work out, but you'll not get general instructions, you'll need to make some decisions, first.

Also, what is that MIS file, is that it's file extension? Or is that just it's name, as in Management Information System?
Typical flat files are CSV and you typically don't work on such a file for a very long time (legacy).

Besides the exusting file(s) the decision on what database must be made by taking into account goals and environment.
What OS?
How much Data?
How many Clients?
How many Users?
Nature of the Data?
Usage of the Data?
Endpoints? What devices?
Do you need backward compatibility or is the legacy system replaced?
What in case the transition has a longer roadmap?

All this might be over the top if we just talk about small flat files, but are you sure you're looking at the current legacy system db or just some query output for a report, a tiny fraction of the data?