Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

datepart returning wrong date

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeCallon

Programmer
Apr 29, 2004
GB
Sorry if this is the wrong group but this is my first post - total newbie so please be gentle......

We have a SQL Server database where dates are stored as a float in a field called DT_StartDate (the dates are entered from a Visual Basic application running on various clients which use CDbl(Now) to convert the current date/time to a double).

If I create a VB executable and convert the value back to a date with CDate(DT_StartDate) I get the expected date.

If a do datepart(day,DT_StartDate) from query analyzer the day is 2 days out !

According to VB, the value 38104 is 27th April 2004

So in VB : CDate(38104) = 27/04/2004
SQL Server : SELECT datepart(day,38104) = 29 !!!!!

Anyone had a similar problem ?

I'm not sure why the dates are stored as float (I inherited this problem) - is this the cause of the problem ?

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Mike

If you are stuck with using a float field, then double check that the 2 day differential is maintained at the beginning and end of time (for your needs). If so then ADJUST. This sort of thing has happened with QBasic, Excel and SQL before. There's no absolute zero when it comes to dates!
-Karl

Thanks for the replies.

We're stuck with doubles - this is a large legacy database - there are a lot of applications reading the data - I can't change the data type without loads of potential problems.