Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Datecheck script

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwc194

Programmer
Aug 1, 2002
US
I'm pretty new to javascript programming so I'm wondering if someone could help me out. I have a form where the user enters 2 dates (start_date and end_date). I would like to use a script to make sure that when the user hits submit, it will make sure that the end_date does not come before the start_date. As I said before, I'm new to javascript so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

FYI Heres the script the way I have it now (which doesn't work). This is just some stuff I pieced together that I found on the internet. Any help would be appreciated.

<script language=&quot;javascript&quot;>
function compareDates(document.member.MbrCat_EffectiveDate,M/d/yyyy,document.member.MbrCat_TerminationDate,M/d/yyyy) {
var d1=getDateFromFormat(document.member.MbrCat_EffectiveDate,M/d/yyyy);
var d2=getDateFromFormat(document.member.MbrCat_TerminationDate,M/d/yyyy);
if (d1==0 || d2==0) {
alert(&quot;The dates can not be the same.&quot;);
return false;
}
else if (d1 > d2) {
alert(&quot;The termination date can not come before the effective date.&quot;)
return false;
}
else {
return true;
}
</script>

Here is the part of the form that im getting the information from:

<FORM name=&quot;member&quot; onsubmit=&quot;return compareDates(document.member.MbrCat_EffectiveDate,M/d/yyyy,document.member.MbrCat_TerminationDate,M/d/yyyy);&quot; <!--ACTION=&quot;member_2edit.cfm?id=#MbrCat_rec_nbr#&quot;--> METHOD=&quot;Post&quot;>