Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Date validation and Controls

Status
Not open for further replies.

GiacoF

Programmer
May 15, 2024
IT
I recently started programming in foxpro and I'm now trying my hand at dates...
So I'm looking for an effective validation method for the date entered in this field, in the sense that based on what the user types, if it's not valid or it's not a date, he is warned.
Basically I'm having difficulty because in the beginning this field is of character type... I don't want to do complex checks and validations on the character, but on the dates. I would like to treat this field as a date and then:
- Check if empty (with "C" I couldn't because it detected "/");
- Check if the date is valid (for example 02/30/2022 would not be valid;
- Check the input, if the user writes various written numbers... example in photo...

Cattura_lewnko.png

I set the inputMask and Format properties to 99/99/9999 and "D". I tried to write the valid() of the field, but I still haven't succeeded..could someone help me to understand how to do it usually?

Just set the value to a date or set the controlsource to a field or variable or preropty that is a date, and users can only enter valid dates.

Besides, using an ActiveX calendar control for picking dates (or developing a calendar picker with a grid, for example) is a userinterface commonly used, too.

Chriss

I agree with Chris. There is no need for anything complicated. Just give the date control an initial date value. You can do that, for example, in its Init:

THIS.Value = DATE()

That will give it an initial value of today's date, which the user can then edit.