Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

dataset, dataconnection, variable & textbox

Status
Not open for further replies.

TiCi

Programmer
Dec 23, 2003
ID
Hello.. i'm still new in C#.. and my programming language before C# is FoxPro.. and.. it's very different..
so after trying and learning C# for several weeks... i have a few question about this programming language.. pardon me if i ask a lot.. :D

1. how to set public variabel in C#? if it's in VFP you can put public variable anywhere.. but in C#, where should i put it so that i can extract information for other forms.
e.g: i want to put user's name from loginForm into mainForm.

2. how to view the context of the cell's grid into a textbox. i've search for an example in MSDN.. but i can only found it how to insert it to listbox, or to view it with Console.WriteLine.

3. if i make an mdi form, can i make one database connection in my parent form for all of my child form? and how do i do that?

4. in VFP i can make a cursor that consist of 3 fields, and only two of them that i view in datagrid, but the 3rd field can still be extract for it's informations. e.g: i make a cursor from Customer table, which consist IDCust, NameCust, and PhoneCust. and i only show NameCust and PhoneCust. but i still can retrieve IDCustomer.
yesterday i've tried that method in C# with ColumnMappings (dtmForm2.ColumnMappings.Add("IDCustomer", "");), but.. i can't retrieve the data... how can u do it in C#?

5. does dataset in C# is the same with data environment in VFP? can i make one dataset for all of my forms? because every forms usually needs different kind of joint cursors..