Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

database help on linux server

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrmorris1958

Programmer
Dec 20, 2002
US
i am fairly new to web design and i have a customer with a small company that would like the folowing items on his site but i have never worked with a linux server before....

his site has 4 different downloads
he would like to keep track of who is downloading what....

he wants the user to click on download link and that would take him to a form that is set up as follows:

already signed up.....login below

username___________
password_____________

if not sign up below

choose username____________
choose password____________
verify password____________

department/service name
contact name
title
email address
phone number(optional)
city
state
zip code

when the user clicks the submit button, he is taken to the download page....

he would like for a time/date to be auto inserted into the database along with the above info...also an auto reply should be sent to user welcoming them to site and telling the user his username and password.....and taken they to the page for downloads

then if a user comes back another time and wants to down load he wants it set up so they can just log in....

he also would like to be able to set up an administrator page that would allow him to query the database by clicking buttons for different info(ie...say he wants to find all the users from alaska he could use dropdown menu to choose state then click button and get that info from database)

he would like simalar setup for any query he might have based on above info categories......