Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Data Validation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chivo

Programmer
Oct 25, 2006
GB
Hi all- newbie here.

I could be a regular by the time my CIW course is finished.

I have a query about data validation which I'm hoping will be bread and butter for someone. I've been asked to write a perl program to request input and check the response. The first of these is to ask for a 4 digit number and ensure it meets the criteria. This is something I thought would be easy but in practice it is not working.

I've posted my code below. It does ensure that only 4 digits are used and that the inout is numeric. It does not though stop a user from typing more than 4 digits:

print ("Please enter your 4 digit customer reference:\n");
$custRef =<STDIN>;
chomp($custRef);
while ($custRef !~ m/\d{4,4}/)
{
print("There was an error, try again.\n\n");
print ("Please enter your 4 digit customer reference:\n");
$custRef =<STDIN>;
chomp($custRef);
}

you need to use string anchors (^$) when you want to make sure a string is an exact match from beginning to end:

Code:
while ($custRef !~ m/^\d{4,4}$/)

The way you had it just made sure there were 4 digits anywhere in the string.

- Kevin, perl coder unexceptional!

Hi Kevin,

Thanks alot, it worked a treat. More than that though thanks for the explanation. My head was hurting. I knew what was going wrong but couldn't see how to fix it and googling didn't help.

I'll push on now but will probably be back at some point.

Thanks again.

Lots of good people here so ask all the questions you want. Just make sure to not post any school work assignments, otherwise you could be banned from the forum.

Students