Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Data Marts - Transactional Data - Account Balances

Status
Not open for further replies.

nchapman

Programmer
Aug 9, 2002
GB
Hi, I am an Oracle Analyst Programmer who is now looking into the use of Data Marts.

The system I work on is a Banking Data Warehouse, and currently has a large number of derivations which are either computed daily or monthly, and then stored in a number of database tables. These derivations are then analysed by the business.

I am looking at producing a Data Mart(s) which I envisage will hold a transactional fact table, and such dimensions as Customer, Account, Time, Product, Location. I want the business users to be able to generate the derivations themselves whenever they like, by using a data mart.

I would like to know if anyone has had a similar task to do. If anyone can offer me any advice on design etc.

Also, some of the derivations we currently have are average balance month to date, aggregate balance month to date, minimum balance for the cycle to date. How would I design the data mart so that business users, could ask these questions ? Would I have to store the balance for each account, for each day in the fact table ???

Hello nchapman,

I do not work for a bank, but the datamart I recently set up for our bike-sales department does look a bit like your proposed set-up for a datamart. I'm using Informatica's Powermart as an ETL tool, DB2 7.1 as database and Access / Business objects as reporting tool.