Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Data Grid Query 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ManicMark

Technical User
Aug 10, 2004
GB
Hi All,

I am new to this ADO and DataGrid procedure but have created a query to populate the DataGrid on the form, this I found easy but now I wish to do the same on another form but this one is not so simple, I wish to retrieve data from two separate tables (joined by 1 to Many relationship) I have one table Product and the other Sold. I have noticed that the DatGrid is connected to the adodc which is connected to the database and the product form.

How, using the adodc, DataGrids and SQL do I get the info from two tables.

Thanking You

Regards

M

Simply join the two tables then set the grids datasource = to the recordset..bind the grid using code..

Select table.field ETC.. From
Table
Inner Join
Table on Table.Field = Table.Field

Then open the recordset

Then Set DataGrid1.DataSource = Recordset

Thankyou dvannoy,

The tables I have are Product and Sold, I am completely new to this and stumbled on it by chance but am so impressed with what it does I thought I'd try to learn more. Could you please explain a little clearer especially the part:
"Simply join the two tables then set the grids datasource = to the recordset..bind the grid using code.."

I have to create a simple stock control system for a local business as part of a project, everything was great until I had to add the extra table (the project requires a relational database) I was hoping it was going to be as simple as it was with just one table, I am sure it's just the way I am looking at it, or is it?

Regards

M

I use Access2000 and VB6 SP6.