Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Data Collection Methods

Status
Not open for further replies.

banwart1

Instructor
Apr 8, 2002
US
I'm pretty new to some of the ideas here (my background is in Cisco and Microsoft) so please be patient with me...
We have Allen-Bradley SLC-500 PLCs on our floor, we would like to collect all the info we can about our processes, but not sure how to do it. We have some software that we can dump raw data into to build reports, but how do we get that raw data, and how much can we collect? Also we would like to build graphs based on current drawn by motors during a mixing cycle.
Thank you in advance for any insights you can offer.

We make a frozen bread product, also cookie dough, and fruit fillings. Our ERP is Greatwinds Dynamics which uses SQL Server and Crystal Reports.

I would suggest hiring a company to make some suggestions on this. There are a lot of different software packages out there that can turn your raw data into usefule informtation, not just in the forms of reports, but also trending, data filtering, intranat data access, customizeable alerts (to email/pager/celphone), and on and on.
You will probably want to look into several differant information storage products than look for a company that has experience with both those products and Allen Bradley PLC's.

Another option is to find a product you like and try to get the company to send a representative out to talk to you. This way you can collect more information (even if it is from a sales person) on a system before trying to make a decision.