Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Data Capture

Status
Not open for further replies.

ComputersUnlimitedVA

IS-IT--Management
Mar 9, 2015
I am not a POS expert or person. I am hoping someone can help me or point me in the right direction.

I am trying to connect Geovisions GV-Data Capture at two different stores, with different register systems. The first store has a Ruby SuperSystem with Sapphire, the second has Ruby2 with commander. So far I have only attempted to configure the Ruby SuperSystem with Sapphire, I am not able to get it working. Each location has two registers.

The first issue the documentation says to connect it to the receipt printer, however I spoke with one of the techs that installed the register system today and they said they have always seen these devices connected to the journal printer. So should I connect it to the receipt printer or to the journal printer? The journal printer makes the most since because only new sales will be recorded on the DVR, not receipt reprints, or reports that are printed. However like I said above the documentation says the receipt printer.

Second if I connect it through the receipt printer and set the dip switch appropriately I get a E9002 printer comms error. The printer is connected with an RS-232 (at least that is how it is labeled) cable from the POS so it is serial but I am not sure on the baud rate, which may be the cause of the printer comms error. The error may also be a result of the cables.