Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

custom versus general 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

matrixindicator

IS-IT--Management
Sep 6, 2007
BE
I have a request from a small company in a food branch. Initially you can say this is a custom task. In short taking orders. But perhaps you can see this if you think a bit widther as a general software product for this branch.

I have no experience on this before. What should experienced developers do or recommand ?

Now I gone make this for this customer. But if he take a licence or something like this he can resell this himself ?
Or can I take a licence myself and sell it to other customers at a very lower price then this first customer (because its a copy) ?

Depends on the nature of your contract. Who has the IPR?

C

I set up the contract myself. The question is more commercial or business minded.
I make this the first time for him so its a custom product, so it is a "huge" charge for him (related to when he should only buy a copy (a licence), he should pay per hour of development.

I have no idea whats practice for software development companies. After I sell this product to him, is it his product (so he can resell) or do I still have copyright ?
or software lawn.

wrong question, what is IPR ?

IPR - Intellectual Property Rights.

Were you contracted to supply a product at a price or were you contracted to supply labour to develop a solution?

In case 1, you own the IPR, they just paid a high price which is their lookout.

In case 2, they own the IPR. You can't just resell anything as it's not yours to resell.

C

contracted to supply a product at a price, so I suppose case1.

So in this case I can resell and he not ?