Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Ctrl + w BAD!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

sleuth

Programmer
Jan 12, 2001
US
Hi Java people,

How can I keep someone from pressing crtl + w, I don't want it to carry out the command, I can do this with single keys by using the key code but I can't figure out how you prevent a key combination, I'd also do alt + F4 if anyone can help me.

Thanks,

Tony

Ok, I've got ctrl + w disabled, now I'm working on disabling alt-F4,

if (event.altKey && keyCode==115){
event.keyCode=0;
return false;
}

Isn't doing the trick, but I can definatly detect if someone is hitting the alt key.

Tony "Chicks Dig Me Because I'm A Developer,

So I don't approach women because I don't have confidence, but because I'm so cool, that I'm just going to wait until they pick up on me.

Pick-up count so far: 0"

Ok, I figured away around preventing Alt-F4, since this is just for a login logout system I simple log the user out when they press alt-F4, so no worries.

Good thing actually that the IE devs didn't let you disable alt-F4 with javascript, imagine what banner ads and popup window advertising would be like .... scary.

Tony

hi sleuth,
fine i actually thought this forum is actually for ppl to put forward their questions and several other people are expected to answer in case they know it...but only after reading ur message..i found that we have to put a question up in this forum and after a day we should find answer to it and reply to ourselves........Great work maan...