Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Crystal Reports - display null/zero values in a cross tab and/or chart

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbear10

Technical User
Dec 23, 2009
CA
Hello,

I'm relatively new to Crystal Reports & need help with a report I am creating. I have given an explanation of the scenario below.

Report SHOULD look like this:
Month:Jan-Feb-Mar-Apr-May ...
Type 1:-0-0-0-12-16
Type 2:-0-0-0-34-56
Total:-0-0-0-46-72

The report looks like this:
Month:Apr-May ...
Type 1:12-16
Type 2:34-56
Total:46-72

I am using a cross-tab to display this information, but I need ALL the months (including those that have a null/zero value).
I also need to create a chart based on this information.

I have the report itself working by creating a 'cross-tab look-a-like' - by that I mean, I created Type 1 & Type 2 totals for each month using formulas.

It would be great if I could get the cross-tab working & display the zero values because then my report will be cleaner & simple.
Also, if I can get the cross-tab working, creating the chart will be easy.

My question(s) is:
- how can i display zero/null values in a cross-tab?
- if that is not possible, is there any way to create the chart where the values are zero/null?

Do you have a table that will give you all of the month values, including those that are missing (or date values and display as month in the report)? If so, use a left join from that table to your data table and then use the date fields from there as your group instead of the date fields in your data table.

-Dell

A computer only does what you actually told it to do - not what you thought you told it to do.

Hi,