Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Crystal Report data source table with empty data 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

yanming

Technical User
Jun 7, 2004
CA
I am new to a company and new to Crytal Report.

It's hard to get help from my company's IT person.

I have one question. Hope get help from you.

We have tables and stored-procedures available.

But, after I selected some fields from a table
to report, I see only the column titles in the
preview report without any data. I tried to do
reflesh, but there were still no data show up.

However, when I selected a stored-procedure to
report, all the fields I inserted into the report
show valid data.

Do I missed anything? Or, I need to ask someone
to do some "update" action to the tables.

read your stored procedure to see where it is selecting the data from. ANd then match it with what you are running that returns no records.

Hi SQL Sister,

The table I tried to use contains different data
than the stored-procedure(SP) produced data.

This means that tables and SPs are not one-to-one
corresponding. I checked that all the files in the
database have their tables listed in the data source,
but, the SPs are under some special name, e.g.
Crystal_AR_Invoice, Alert_Booking, Crystal_Booking_Monthly.

An expert suggested that my problem is due to that
I don't have the proper privileges (access rights in the database), even I have the right to use SPs.

How you think?

Thanks.